Reframing Academic Leadership

Reframing Academic Leadership

“Colleges and universities constitute a special type of organization; and their complex mission, dynamics, personnel structures, and values require a distinct set of understandings and skills to lead and manage them well.”—From the Preface

In Reframing Academic Leadership, Joan V. Gallos and Lee G. Bolman offer higher education leaders a provocative and pragmatic guide for

  • Crafting dynamic institutions where the whole is greater than the sum of the parts
  • Creating campus environments that facilitate creativity and commitment
  • Forging alliances and partnerships in service of the mission
  • Building shared vision and campus cultures that unite and inspire
  • Serving the larger goals of the academy and society.

Throughout the book, the authors integrate powerful conceptual frameworks with rich and compelling, real-world cases to support academic leaders searching for the best in themselves and in their institutions. The book tackles thorny issues such as building institutional clarity and capacity, managing conflict, coping with difficult people, partnering with the boss, and developing leadership resilience. Following in the tradition of Bolman and Deal’s quarter-century classic Reframing Organizations, Bolman and Gallos emphasize pragmatics. They tease out the unique challenges and opportunities in academic leadership and provide ideas, tools, and encouragement to help higher education leaders see more clearly, feel more confident, and become more skilled and versatile in handling the vicissitudes of daily life. Reframing Academic Leadership is the resource for those seeking to understand, develop, and manage colleges and universities.

Praise for Reframing Academic Leadership

Reframing Academic Leadership is the most comprehensive book on the topic and an excellent source of knowledge for faculty and managerial leaders in every college and university. An invaluable resource for students of higher education leadership!” —Maureen Sullivan, professor of practice, Simmons College Graduate School of Library and Information Science and 2010 Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Librarian of the Year

Reframing Academic Leadership provides a compassionate understanding of the stresses of leadership in higher education. It offers insights to those who do not fully appreciate why higher education is so hard to ‘manage’ and validation for those entirely familiar with this world. I recommend it enthusiastically.”—Judith Block McLaughlin, senior lecturer, director of the Higher Education Program, and educational chair for the Harvard Seminar for New Presidents, Harvard Graduate School of Education

“Bolman and Gallos provide a refreshing view of leadership essential for those assuming presidencies and other important leadership positions in higher education. This work is a bedside reference for aspiring and current leaders in higher education not only in the U.S. but also abroad.”—Fernando Leon Garcia, rector, Sistema CETYS Universidad, Baja California, Mexico

“Bolman and Gallos have written a practical, lucid text that brings together illustrative vignettes and robust frameworks for diagnosing and managing colleges and universities. I recommend it to new and experienced administrators who will routinely confront difficult people, structures, and cultures in their workplaces.”—Christopher Morphew, professor and chair, Educational Policy and Leadership Studies, College of Education, University of Iowa

Reframing Academic Leadership is filled with examples from days leaders really have. The book reads like a guide for leading a chamber music rehearsal where one’s role constantly shifts from star to servant and where multiple answers may be ‘right.’”—Peter Witte, dean, Conservatory of Music and Dance, University of Missouri-Kansas City

 

[Click the book title to find more information and purchasing options.]

Business Leadership: A Jossey-Bass Reader (2nd Edition)

Business Leadership Reader

This is a revision of the highly successful first Jossey-Bass reader. Business Leadership provides practical advice for new and seasoned leaders. It explores essential leadership skills and possibilities, tactics for successfully navigating the leadership terrain (and avoiding predictable pitfalls), and ways to support and sustain leaders during the work.

This volume reflects decades of work by multiple individuals to identify common principles of success and the leadership that helps to generate it. – Ronald A. Heifetz, Leadership Without Easy Answers and coauthor, Leadership on the Line

The book contains classic and original chapters from Ron Ashkenas, Karen Ayas, David Batstone, Warren G. Bennis, Lee G. Bolman, Larry Bossidy, Richard Boyatzis, Marcus Buckingham, Charles Burck, Kim Cameron, Keith A. Caver, Ram Charan, Donald O. Clifton, Jim Collins, Bill George, Ronald A. Heifetz, Joan V. Gallos, John P. Kotter, Daniel Goleman, Annie McKee, James Kouzes, Barry Posner, Terrence E. Deal, Andre Delbecq, David L. Dotlich, Peter F. Drucker, Ken Dychtwald, Marc S. Effron, Tamara Erickson, Paul Glen, Loizos Heracleous, Jonathan Hughes, Claus D. Jacobs, Todd Jick, Barbara Kellerman, Marty Linsky, Ancella B. Livers, James MacGregor Burns, Philip Mirvis, Robert Morison, Burt Nanus, James L. Noel, James O’Toole, Robert E. Quinn, Andrew J. Razeghi, Douglas A. Ready, Sandra Robinson, Michael J. Sales, Steven B. Sample, Andrew W. Savitz, Edgar H. Schein, Robert J. Thomas, David Ulrich, Michael Watkins, Norman Walker, Karl Weber, Jeff Weiss

 

[Click the book title to find more information and purchasing options.]

Organization Development: A Jossey-Bass ReaderOD Reader

This is the third book in the Jossey-Bass Reader series. Organization Development is a one-stop guide to the world of planned change. Newcomers to the field can read the book cover to cover and explore organization development’s foundation, scope, focus, purpose, and methods. Experienced consultants and change agents will find chapters that capture best thinking on key topics—resources for fine-tuning skills, learning about intervention options, envisioning organization development’s future, or reflecting on the larger issues in growth and change. Leaders and managers will find the resources they need to understand the route to organizational health and effectiveness, and to develop, launch, and nourish successful change efforts. Organization development has a powerful and influential heritage, solid core, evolving applications and approaches, and a vital role to play in today’s global, fast-paced world of constant change. This volume immerses readers deeply in organization development’s power and possibilities.

A notable book for 2006 – Training and Development, a publication of the American Society for Training and Development

The book includes classic and original chapters from a rich and diverse sampling of contributors: Billie Alban, Chris Argyris, Ron Ashkenas, John R. Austin, Jean M. Bartunek, Franklin Becker, Richard Beckhard, Beth Benjamin, Peter Block, Gene Boccialetti, Lee G. Bolman, David L. Bradford, Barbara Bunker, W. Warner Burke, Bernard Burnes, Jay Conger, David L. Cooperrider, Terrence E. Deal, Linda Dickens, Peter F. Drucker, Jane E. Dutton, the late Peter J. Frost, Marshall Goldsmith, Jay Galbraith, Joan V. Gallos, Marc S. Gerstein, Louis “Tex” Gunning, Phil Harkins, Stuart L. Hart, Todd Jick, Jason M. Kanov, Rosabeth Moss Kanter, Steve Kerr, John Kotter, James Kouzes, Edward E. Lawler, Jacoba M. Lilius, Sally Maitlis, Robert J. Marshak, Keith Merron, Philip H. Mirvis, Howard Morgan, David A. Nadler, Glenn M. Parker, Barry Posner, Joseph A. Raelin, Michael J. Sales, Edgar H. Schein, Roger Schwarz, Leslie E. Sekerka, Peter M. Senge, Fritz Steele, David A. Thomas, William R. Torbert, Dave Ulrich, Karen Watkins, Marvin Weisbord, Alan Weiss, Monica C. Worline. Foreword by Edgar H. Schein.

 

[Click the book title to find more information and purchasing options.]

Teaching Diversity: Listening to the Soul, Speaking from the Heart

Teaching Diversity

Teaching about diversity is different from other management and executive education. It involves questioning our institutions and policies, behaviors and choices, definitions of truth and equity, self-images, relationships, and professional roles. It requires a deep personal journey of self-discovery and growth for instructor and student – and sophisticated ways of authentically engaging in simultaneous personal and professional growth.

Novice teachers will gain insight from the stories of experienced faculty. Sometimes poignant, sometimes hilarious, this easy to read book will not bore. – Reviewer

Teaching Diversity: Listening to the Soul, Speaking from the Heart captures the unique nature of this complex work. The book is the outcome of a developmental project by Gallos and Ramsey who asked seventeen management educators – a diverse group of university professors and corporate trainers all engaged in some aspect of diversity teaching – to join them in a year of learning. Contributors agreed to put aside academic ways of thinking and writing and to openly explore the personal meaning, nature, preparation for, and challenges of the work. Gallos and Ramsey wove a polyphonic whole from the free-flowing, iterative exchanges among the contributors into what has been described as an honest and realistic portrait of this personal, at times painful, yet always energizing teaching. The project was great fun and learning-filled for all. The book is a staple in a large number of university, corporate, and government teaching and training resource centers around the world – a testimony to the power of multiple voices speaking openly on common issues.

[Click the book title to find more information and purchasing options.]

 

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: